Monday, 1 April 2013

Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation Review and Swatches

As far as drugstore/high street foundations go, I've never really been fond, with the exception of Bourjous Healthy Mix and L'Oreal True Match (which I now hate.) When I stumbled across this one in Boots on a mammoth swatching session, I was pleasantly surprised. It has a luxurious texture that applies beautifully. The shade range for this foundation isn't great, as they only have six shades. The lightest shade they had was Ivory (100) which is a little too dark for me, but with a bit of blending it looks fine. It has a lovely dewy finish and doesn't stick onto any dry patches. As for it's staying powder, it seriously lasts all day looking like you've just applied it, but feels weightless! For just £6.99 I think this is a bargain! 

Swatched product:

Blended product:

Thanks for reading, hope this helps! x

Monday, 25 March 2013

Clinique Lash Power Mascara Review

 First things first, I'd like to apologize for being gone for soooo long. Among other reasons, my laptop just completely died on me and would not do a single thing (RIP Trusty Dell). Another reason being because I live quite far away from my college it means I'm not back home until late in the evening so struggle finding time to do general things, never mind blogging! That being said, I reaaaaally missed blogging, so I'm going to try my hardest to try again and keep this up-to-date.

My first review back is going to be on the Clinique Lash Power Mascara Long-Wearing Formula (Photos below). If you've read my blog before you will know that I love my Maybelline Falsies mascara more than anything, but I can't help but notices it always smudges under my eyes, and the tube dries out suuuuper quick. Enter this badboy..

Clinique Lash Power Mascara promises to 'look pretty for 24 hours without a smudge or smear. One stroke and these pretty lashes last through rain, sweat, humidity, tears.' I can tell you now, the this mascara DOES live up to it's claim. It has a relatively small, narrow brush which is great for small eyes like mine and you can really wiggle it into your eyelashes without making smears all over your eyelid. The formula is not too wet, yet not too dry, so it gives you a fair amount of time to work with it before it dries so that you can shape the eyelashes. Once the formula has dried, there is absolutely no budging. None. Nada. 

A problem I find with most mascaras are that because I have relatively long bottom lashes, it always smudges and gives me panda eyes, but this mascara is fantastic for not causing this to happen. It lasts amazingly well, and will not come off until YOU want it to. Removal is a little tricky as you have to remove it with warm water, well hot water is more precise as it really does need to melt the mascara off. So if you're a little lazy with make up removal like me (I <3 make up wipes), this could annoy you a little. 



Thanks for reading, hope this helped! Have a great day! x

Wednesday, 10 October 2012

Jennifer Lawrence UK Vogue Cover Make Up Tutorial

Photo taken from my Instagram (thebeautybloggersnotebook) 

Hey guys sorry again for being gone for so long! Things have been hectic with me settling into my new college, but hopefully I will be able to start posting more regularly again. Please forgive me! ;) 

The newest copy of Vogue popped through my letter box the other day with one of my favourite actresses on the cover sporting very subtle eye make up with a dramatic red lip. The photo shoot inside the magazine has the same eye make up but with a much more wearable light pink lip, so I decided to use the look for a make up tutorial as it's great for everyday. 

For the face:
Foundation: Her freckles are very visible in the photos, so I opted for a fairly light coverage foundation and used Bourjois Healthy Mix foundation.
Powder: Set with Chanel Loose Powder in Clair (Translucent)
Blusher: MAC Powder Blush in Pinch O' Peach applied to apples of the cheeks. 

For The Eyes:

- Start by applying a light shimmery, warm brown such as Toasted by Urban Decay all over the lid and along the lower lash line. 

-Apply a matte mid brown such as Copperplate by MAC to the outer 'V' of the eye to add a bit of depth.

- Take an angled brush with a matte black such as Carbon by MAC on, and line the outer two thirds of the eyes and wing slightly.

-Apply mascara to top and bottom lashes.

- Her brows don't appear to be filled in, so I just ran through my brows with Mac Brow Set.

For the lips:
A light baby pink lipstick such as Lovelorn by MAC.  

I hope you found this helpful and if you have any other make up tutorial requests, feel free to leave a comment below! :D Have a great day xx

Tuesday, 18 September 2012

Why I decided to cancel my Glossybox Subscription.


To be honest I have been unhappy with my monthly boxes for the past couple of months now so decided to finally take the plunge and cancel my subscription. I received my September box and am so unimpressed that I'm not even going to bother to put a post up on it. In the beginning when in was a £10 a month box and the contents was actually excellent value for money I thought Glossybox was the best thing since sliced bread. The next thing I knew it was up to £12.95 and the contents was slowly decreasing in quality. 

The Beauty Profile thingy-ma-bob is a load of crap because they keep sending me creams and potions for my wrinkles even though I'm 17 and have said so in my beauty profile. I also remember them asking me what I would prefer to be sent (such as skincare, haircare, make-up etc) and I chose make-up and haircare. So for them to keep sending me skincare products, and for them to be all wrong for my skin it just goes to show it means nothing. 

Last months box came with two broken products in and I actually tweeted Glossybox to tell them about the problem and they never answered although I could see that other subscribers had the same problem. I do love the concept of the beauty boxes though so am thinking about changing over brands. If anyone subscribes to another one pleeease could you leave recommendations of the boxes you like as I'll feel a bit lost without my monthly beauty fix!

Thursday, 6 September 2012

Last of the Summer Nails..

As Summer is about to draw to a close, even though we haven't really had one, I thought I'd get the last of my bright nails in whilst I can.

What you will need:
-Base and Top Coat
-Nail colour of your choice.
-Nail art tape (I got mine from here. )
-Scissors (to cut the tape)

What to do:

1: Apply Base Coat.
2: Apply 2-3 coats of your chosen nail polish.
3: Apply top coat. I applied the top coat before the tape as it quickens the drying time of the varnish so it doesn't smudge when it's time for the tape.
4:Once top coat is dry apply first colour of tape from about half way down the nail, diagonally downwards. Repeat with the next 2 colours of tape around 1mm above each other.
5:Apply another layer of top coat.

P.S Don't forget to follow as I have an exciting GIVEAWAY coming up! :)

Hope you like it! Have a great day! xx

Sunday, 2 September 2012

Bed Head Dumb Blonde Shampoo and Conditioner Review

First of all I want to apologize for not posting for a while, I've just been super busy getting everything ready for college as I start on Monday! 

I mentioned a while back in my July Favourites that I loved this shampoo and conditioner and would do a review on it. Well since then, my opinion has changed big time on them. At first I loved them because they made my hair feel super smooth, and helped keep my hair vibrant as I'd just had it highlighted. But since then the condition of my hair has changed drastically. It's dry and frizzy and feels sooo sticky no matter how well I rinse my hair after the conditioner. I literally can't do anything with my hair as whatever I do, it just looks frizzy and dull, and if I wear it down it just gets knotty because my hair sticks to itself! Gross, I know!  I had little travel bottles of Toni and Guy Shampoo and Conditioner so I tried that, and my hair just felt so much better afterwards. I'm really gutted about this as its quite expensive and I bought the trade-size bottles :(

Let me know if you've tried this, and if you had a similar experience. Have a great day! xx

Thursday, 23 August 2012

Models Own Jade Stone With Foil-y Accent!

I bought this gorgeous nail polish from Boots the other day and have been wearing it non-stop, so thought I'd jazz it up a little so I wouldn't get bored (not that I could, look how preeeetty!)

Here's how I did it:

You will need-
~Base Coat
~Any Pastel Nail Polish
~High Shine Top Coat
~Tin Foil (cut into very thin strips)
~Nail File to Shape Nails

Step 1: File nails to desired shape.
Step 2: Apply Base Coat
Step 3: Depending on the opacity of your polish apply 1-2 coats, and wait for it to dry until it feels slightly tacky (this helps the foil strips stick to it better!)
Step 4: Press on foil strips into whatever pattern you desire.
Step 5: Apply a generous coat of top coat.

Ps. I have an exciting GIVEAWAY coming up, so don't forget to follow! :D

Have a fab day! :D xx

Wednesday, 22 August 2012

Big Make Up Acadamy Haul For A Little Price!

Hi guys! Today's post is a haul from MUA. I ordered these babies off their website and although they took a little while longer than I expected to arrive, I am EXTREMELY impressed with the quality of these lip products. I got 5 lipsticks, at £1 each! and a Love Hearts Lip Balm. Swatches at the end! (I will also be giving away MUA products in my upcoming Giveaway, so don't forget to follow!)

MUA Lipstick in Shade 3- This is a very pigmented, vibrant fuchsia colour and has a lovely creamy formula, as do all the other lipsticks.

MUA Lipstick in Shade 10- This is a fantastic daytime colour as although it looks quite dark, its sheer so gives you just the right amount of colour.

MUA Lipstick in Shade 11- This one is also a great daytime lipstick as it is a lovely, subtle orangey-brown colour.

MUA Lipstick in Shade 4- This is a true Barbie-pink! I wouldn't say this is very wearable, but it's a fun one to have in your collection for various occasions.

MUA Lipstick in Shade 6-  This is my favourite one that I bought! It's a very wearable daytime pink that is not in-your-face.

Also, I read that the compartment on the bottom of the lipsticks was a gloss, but I personally think it's just a little bit more of the lipstick, which I'm not complaining about because it's even BETTER value for money (if that's possible).

MUA Love Hearts Lip Balm in Sweet Kiss- I love, love, love this! It's suuuuper smooth, gives just the right amount of colour to my lips and has really great lasting power!

(Click to enlarge.)

Thanks for reading, have a great day! :) xx

Sunday, 19 August 2012

Collection 2000 Pump Up The Volume Waterproof Mascara Review

(See results below!)

This was a bit of an impulse buy, as I was on my way out and it decided to absolutely chuck it down with rain so I bought this as I didn't have any waterproof mascaras. Little did I know that this would turn into my daily mascara. Its formula and brush remind me very much of my favourite The Falsies mascara (but at a much more purse friendly price!). 

It gives great length and a considerable amount of volume. As for how waterproof it actually is, my answer would be, VERY. I tested it very vigorously with warm water and a good ole rub, but it didn't budge. This being said, it does make it quite difficult to remove but I use a Johnsons Make Up wipe hold it onto my eyelashes for around 30 seconds and then wipe it away fairly easily. Very impressed with this mascara!

Without Mascara:

With Mascara:

The wand:

Have a great day and don't forget to follow as I have a very exciting Giveaway coming up! xx

Tuesday, 14 August 2012

August Glossybox 2012

To be quite honest I'm disappointed with this months box as two of the items in it were broken :( Read on for my opinions of the rest of the products. 

Vera Valenti L'Ombre a Paupiere Margarita 

First of all, the mirror in the middle has popped out and is rattling around inside the packaging along with bits of eye shadow. Second of all, the packaging looks sooo cheap it looks like little kiddies make-up. Third of all, I haven't even opened this because quite frankly I'm not interested. 


I was quite happy to receive this as I have always wanted to try it, but haven't as of yet because I didn't wear lipstick today! 

Alessandro Pro White

This little product intrigued me as I've not really seen a similar product. I don't necessarily get yellow nails as I always use a base coat under any polish. I'd been picking at my nail varnish so it was a bit of a mess, so I removed it and applied this. It applies really nicely and looks fine in artificial lighting but outdoors it looks a 'lil bit toooo blue.  

DHC Deep Cleansing Oil

This feels a bit odd to use at first because you just apply it onto your dry face, but once you've rubbed it in and rinsed it off, it does leave your skin feeling nice and clean.

Glossybox Lipstick in Glossy Pink

Well, I opened the lipstick and wondered where the bloody thing was just as it fell out from the bloody lid onto my bloody carpet! It was broken off right from the base so very disappointed. Not a happy bunny.

Broadway Nails imPRESS Press-On Manicure

I was chuffed when I saw these in my Glossybox as I had been really wanting to try some, but hadn't bought any as I wasn't sure whether they were worth the hype, but now I can see if they are! Whooopeee.

What did you think of your Glossybox's? Did yours all arrive in one piece?

Have a great day xx