Wednesday, 10 October 2012

Jennifer Lawrence UK Vogue Cover Make Up Tutorial

Photo taken from my Instagram (thebeautybloggersnotebook) 

Hey guys sorry again for being gone for so long! Things have been hectic with me settling into my new college, but hopefully I will be able to start posting more regularly again. Please forgive me! ;) 

The newest copy of Vogue popped through my letter box the other day with one of my favourite actresses on the cover sporting very subtle eye make up with a dramatic red lip. The photo shoot inside the magazine has the same eye make up but with a much more wearable light pink lip, so I decided to use the look for a make up tutorial as it's great for everyday. 

For the face:
Foundation: Her freckles are very visible in the photos, so I opted for a fairly light coverage foundation and used Bourjois Healthy Mix foundation.
Powder: Set with Chanel Loose Powder in Clair (Translucent)
Blusher: MAC Powder Blush in Pinch O' Peach applied to apples of the cheeks. 

For The Eyes:

- Start by applying a light shimmery, warm brown such as Toasted by Urban Decay all over the lid and along the lower lash line. 

-Apply a matte mid brown such as Copperplate by MAC to the outer 'V' of the eye to add a bit of depth.

- Take an angled brush with a matte black such as Carbon by MAC on, and line the outer two thirds of the eyes and wing slightly.

-Apply mascara to top and bottom lashes.

- Her brows don't appear to be filled in, so I just ran through my brows with Mac Brow Set.

For the lips:
A light baby pink lipstick such as Lovelorn by MAC.  

I hope you found this helpful and if you have any other make up tutorial requests, feel free to leave a comment below! :D Have a great day xx

Tuesday, 18 September 2012

Why I decided to cancel my Glossybox Subscription.


To be honest I have been unhappy with my monthly boxes for the past couple of months now so decided to finally take the plunge and cancel my subscription. I received my September box and am so unimpressed that I'm not even going to bother to put a post up on it. In the beginning when in was a £10 a month box and the contents was actually excellent value for money I thought Glossybox was the best thing since sliced bread. The next thing I knew it was up to £12.95 and the contents was slowly decreasing in quality. 

The Beauty Profile thingy-ma-bob is a load of crap because they keep sending me creams and potions for my wrinkles even though I'm 17 and have said so in my beauty profile. I also remember them asking me what I would prefer to be sent (such as skincare, haircare, make-up etc) and I chose make-up and haircare. So for them to keep sending me skincare products, and for them to be all wrong for my skin it just goes to show it means nothing. 

Last months box came with two broken products in and I actually tweeted Glossybox to tell them about the problem and they never answered although I could see that other subscribers had the same problem. I do love the concept of the beauty boxes though so am thinking about changing over brands. If anyone subscribes to another one pleeease could you leave recommendations of the boxes you like as I'll feel a bit lost without my monthly beauty fix!

Thursday, 6 September 2012

Last of the Summer Nails..

As Summer is about to draw to a close, even though we haven't really had one, I thought I'd get the last of my bright nails in whilst I can.

What you will need:
-Base and Top Coat
-Nail colour of your choice.
-Nail art tape (I got mine from here. )
-Scissors (to cut the tape)

What to do:

1: Apply Base Coat.
2: Apply 2-3 coats of your chosen nail polish.
3: Apply top coat. I applied the top coat before the tape as it quickens the drying time of the varnish so it doesn't smudge when it's time for the tape.
4:Once top coat is dry apply first colour of tape from about half way down the nail, diagonally downwards. Repeat with the next 2 colours of tape around 1mm above each other.
5:Apply another layer of top coat.

P.S Don't forget to follow as I have an exciting GIVEAWAY coming up! :)

Hope you like it! Have a great day! xx

Sunday, 2 September 2012

Bed Head Dumb Blonde Shampoo and Conditioner Review

First of all I want to apologize for not posting for a while, I've just been super busy getting everything ready for college as I start on Monday! 

I mentioned a while back in my July Favourites that I loved this shampoo and conditioner and would do a review on it. Well since then, my opinion has changed big time on them. At first I loved them because they made my hair feel super smooth, and helped keep my hair vibrant as I'd just had it highlighted. But since then the condition of my hair has changed drastically. It's dry and frizzy and feels sooo sticky no matter how well I rinse my hair after the conditioner. I literally can't do anything with my hair as whatever I do, it just looks frizzy and dull, and if I wear it down it just gets knotty because my hair sticks to itself! Gross, I know!  I had little travel bottles of Toni and Guy Shampoo and Conditioner so I tried that, and my hair just felt so much better afterwards. I'm really gutted about this as its quite expensive and I bought the trade-size bottles :(

Let me know if you've tried this, and if you had a similar experience. Have a great day! xx

Thursday, 23 August 2012

Models Own Jade Stone With Foil-y Accent!

I bought this gorgeous nail polish from Boots the other day and have been wearing it non-stop, so thought I'd jazz it up a little so I wouldn't get bored (not that I could, look how preeeetty!)

Here's how I did it:

You will need-
~Base Coat
~Any Pastel Nail Polish
~High Shine Top Coat
~Tin Foil (cut into very thin strips)
~Nail File to Shape Nails

Step 1: File nails to desired shape.
Step 2: Apply Base Coat
Step 3: Depending on the opacity of your polish apply 1-2 coats, and wait for it to dry until it feels slightly tacky (this helps the foil strips stick to it better!)
Step 4: Press on foil strips into whatever pattern you desire.
Step 5: Apply a generous coat of top coat.

Ps. I have an exciting GIVEAWAY coming up, so don't forget to follow! :D

Have a fab day! :D xx

Wednesday, 22 August 2012

Big Make Up Acadamy Haul For A Little Price!

Hi guys! Today's post is a haul from MUA. I ordered these babies off their website and although they took a little while longer than I expected to arrive, I am EXTREMELY impressed with the quality of these lip products. I got 5 lipsticks, at £1 each! and a Love Hearts Lip Balm. Swatches at the end! (I will also be giving away MUA products in my upcoming Giveaway, so don't forget to follow!)

MUA Lipstick in Shade 3- This is a very pigmented, vibrant fuchsia colour and has a lovely creamy formula, as do all the other lipsticks.

MUA Lipstick in Shade 10- This is a fantastic daytime colour as although it looks quite dark, its sheer so gives you just the right amount of colour.

MUA Lipstick in Shade 11- This one is also a great daytime lipstick as it is a lovely, subtle orangey-brown colour.

MUA Lipstick in Shade 4- This is a true Barbie-pink! I wouldn't say this is very wearable, but it's a fun one to have in your collection for various occasions.

MUA Lipstick in Shade 6-  This is my favourite one that I bought! It's a very wearable daytime pink that is not in-your-face.

Also, I read that the compartment on the bottom of the lipsticks was a gloss, but I personally think it's just a little bit more of the lipstick, which I'm not complaining about because it's even BETTER value for money (if that's possible).

MUA Love Hearts Lip Balm in Sweet Kiss- I love, love, love this! It's suuuuper smooth, gives just the right amount of colour to my lips and has really great lasting power!

(Click to enlarge.)

Thanks for reading, have a great day! :) xx

Sunday, 19 August 2012

Collection 2000 Pump Up The Volume Waterproof Mascara Review

(See results below!)

This was a bit of an impulse buy, as I was on my way out and it decided to absolutely chuck it down with rain so I bought this as I didn't have any waterproof mascaras. Little did I know that this would turn into my daily mascara. Its formula and brush remind me very much of my favourite The Falsies mascara (but at a much more purse friendly price!). 

It gives great length and a considerable amount of volume. As for how waterproof it actually is, my answer would be, VERY. I tested it very vigorously with warm water and a good ole rub, but it didn't budge. This being said, it does make it quite difficult to remove but I use a Johnsons Make Up wipe hold it onto my eyelashes for around 30 seconds and then wipe it away fairly easily. Very impressed with this mascara!

Without Mascara:

With Mascara:

The wand:

Have a great day and don't forget to follow as I have a very exciting Giveaway coming up! xx

Tuesday, 14 August 2012

August Glossybox 2012

To be quite honest I'm disappointed with this months box as two of the items in it were broken :( Read on for my opinions of the rest of the products. 

Vera Valenti L'Ombre a Paupiere Margarita 

First of all, the mirror in the middle has popped out and is rattling around inside the packaging along with bits of eye shadow. Second of all, the packaging looks sooo cheap it looks like little kiddies make-up. Third of all, I haven't even opened this because quite frankly I'm not interested. 


I was quite happy to receive this as I have always wanted to try it, but haven't as of yet because I didn't wear lipstick today! 

Alessandro Pro White

This little product intrigued me as I've not really seen a similar product. I don't necessarily get yellow nails as I always use a base coat under any polish. I'd been picking at my nail varnish so it was a bit of a mess, so I removed it and applied this. It applies really nicely and looks fine in artificial lighting but outdoors it looks a 'lil bit toooo blue.  

DHC Deep Cleansing Oil

This feels a bit odd to use at first because you just apply it onto your dry face, but once you've rubbed it in and rinsed it off, it does leave your skin feeling nice and clean.

Glossybox Lipstick in Glossy Pink

Well, I opened the lipstick and wondered where the bloody thing was just as it fell out from the bloody lid onto my bloody carpet! It was broken off right from the base so very disappointed. Not a happy bunny.

Broadway Nails imPRESS Press-On Manicure

I was chuffed when I saw these in my Glossybox as I had been really wanting to try some, but hadn't bought any as I wasn't sure whether they were worth the hype, but now I can see if they are! Whooopeee.

What did you think of your Glossybox's? Did yours all arrive in one piece?

Have a great day xx 

Wednesday, 8 August 2012

FOTD: For A Date I Can't Remember..

I was looking through the photos on my iPod and came across a lost FOTD post haha, so as the title suggests, I'm not sure what day this was. 

L'Oreal True Match
Nars Orgasm

MUA Matte Eyeshadow in Shade 16 from lash line up to brow. 
Urban Decay Buck all over lid and along lower lash line.
Urban Decay Hustle in crease.
MAC Carbon along upper lash line.
Eyeko Skinny Eye Liner in Plum on upper and lower waterline. 
Maybelline Define-A-Lash Mascara 

The Body Shop Lip Tint 

Thanks for reading! Have a great day xx

Friday, 3 August 2012

July Favourites!

I'm back! The reason I've been gone so long is because I've been away, camping. It was spur of the moment so that's why I didn't have time to put it on here. So anyway, onto July Favourites!

Tigi Bed Head Dumb Blonde Shampoo and Conditioner- This really helps to keep my highlighted blonde hair vibrant, and the conditioner is lovely and rich so really helps untangle my super knotty hair! I'll be doing a full review on these soon.

Maybelline The Falsies Black Drama Mascara- I've re-found the love of my life. Ok, that may be a bit dramatic but I really do love this mascara! Review and pictures here.

Flo Atomizer- This was perfect to take camping with me so I didn't have to haul a heavy glass bottle of perfume with me.

Palmers Cocoa Butter Formula Concentrated Cream- My hands get really dry whenever I go camping, and this is by far the best hand cream I have ever tried. It's super rich and creamy and just sinks into your hands like butter without leaving any greasy residue at all. 

Clarins Multi-Active Jour Day- I think this comes in jar now rather than a pump, but I have been using this for years. It has a really fresh scent and feels light, yet nourishing on the skin. This, again, is great for camping as it has SPF which you need when you're outside from morning 'til night!

Elizabeth Arden Sun Goddess Bronzing Powder- This is great for giving you a faux-glow (see what I did there..) as it's not overly shimmery or orangey. 

Now for two random favourites!

Oral-B Pro-Expert Toothpaste in Clean Mint- I love this toothpaste! It feels like its actually cleaning your teeth rather than just being too strong and minty. It also tastes a little bit cinnamon-y which I looove, weird I know. 
Complimints in Spearmint-(These are from Aldi fyi.) I don't usually like mints as they leave a horrible film on your mouth and teeth, but these don't at all and they taste reaaaal gooooood. 

Hope you have a great weekend! xx

Sunday, 22 July 2012

Mac Haulin' and a Swatchin'

Hi guys! Just a quick post today with my recent splurge on MAC. (Bad Ffion!)

The first things I got were these eye shadows in Wedge, Brule and Copperplate for my palette. I chose these three because they're great everyday colours and they're prettyyyyyy. 

Powder Blush in Desert Rose- I chose this one because its very similar to my beloved Empire which was discontinued :(

Studio Finish Concealer in NC20- This has such a nice consistency, goes on really smoothly and is uber pigmented!

Paint Pot in Soft Ochre- I have the Painterly Paint pot already, but because it's quite pink it doesn't look great as a base for all shadows so I got this one as well which is more yellow toned. 

Below: Swatchy, swatchy!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday! xx

Friday, 20 July 2012

Anna Paquin Comic Con Make Up Tutorial

I was scrolling through my Tumblr dash the other day and saw a couple of pictures of Anna Paquin looking stunning at Comic Con, so thought I'd give her make up a go, so here's the result! (I'm just going to apologize in advance for the not-so-good picture quality, as my mum took my camera and I had already got everything ready for the tutorial so just took the pictures on my iPod. Sorrrrry!)

For The Face:
Nars Sheer Glow Foundation
MAC Creme Blush in Something Special

For The Eyes:

Step 1: Apply a light brown shadow all over the lid and a little above the crease (I used Cross Cultural by MAC)

Step 2: Apply a rich, deep brown shadow to the outer two thirds of your lid with a large, dense brush. (I used Coffee Bean by Too Faced)

Step 3: Using that same brown on a smaller brush, apply it along the lower lash line

Step 4: Apply black liner to the upper and lower water line. Curl eyelashes and apply mascara.

For The Lips:
The eyes are quite dramatic so she's left her lips neutral so I just applied some EOS Lip Balm.

Hope you enjoyed this! If you have any requests for make up tutorials, feel free to leave them in the comments! Have a great day! xx